Monday, November 18, 2013

Score Samples from The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug Soundtrack

One of the joys a new edition to The Hobbit trilogy is it means a new edition to the excellent series of scores from composer Howard Shore. Just like last year, the soundtrack for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug will come in two editions - the regular version and the special edition that will be released on December 10th, just days before the movie itself. Amazon has just the special edition and regular edition available for pre-order but really there is no reason to get the regular edition.

To tease the upcoming release, WaterTower Music (part of Warner Bros) has released a sampler with the full track list for the special edition (below) that lets you here snippets from each of the tracks. To no surprise it sounds excellent and makes me look forward to hearing the rest. You can also listen to "A Feast of Starlight" on the official website.

Special Edition Track List
Disc 1
1. The Quest for Erebor
2. Wilderland
3. A Necromancer (Bonus Track)
4. The House of Beorn (Extended Version)
5. Mirkwood (Extended Version)
6. Flies and Spiders (Extended Version)
7. The Woodland Realm (Extended Version)
8. Feast of Starlight
9. Barrels Out of Bond
10. The Forest River (Extended Version)
11. Bard, a Man of Lake-town (Extended Version)
12. The High Fells (Extended Version)
13. The Nature of Evil
14. Protector of the Common Folk

Disc 2
1. Thrice Welcome
2. Girion, Lord of Dale (Extended Version)
3. Durin's Folk (Extended Version)
4. In the Shadow of the Mountain
5. A Spell of Concealment (Extended Version)
6. On the Doorstep
7. The Courage of Hobbits
8. Inside Information
9. Kingsfoil
10. A Liar and a Thief
11. The Hunters (Extended Version)
12. Smaug (Extended Version)
13. My Armor Is Iron
14. “I See Fire” performed by Ed Sheeran
15. Beyond the Forest

No comments:

Post a Comment